Are we there yet? Looking back during phase II field work

Interviewing.  Transcribing.  Planning for interviews. Negotiating interview appointments.  That’s about it.  But how am I doing?

Phase II research interviews to date:

  • Activists: 33% [+100% pending]
  • Learned societies: 40% [+50% pending]
  • Publishers: 70% [+30% pending]
  • Funders: 67% [+83% pending]
  • Academics 55% [+25% pending]

That’s since 2nd July when I sent out my original requests to interview.  Pretty good response from the academic and publishing community, and with some gentle prompting the rest have been pretty good too.  Pretty sure I’ve had my longest and shortest interview for this phase already…but I remain to be surprised.

Time to start picking my wave II academics I think.  Also…still trying to work out which is any governmental doors to knock on, as I really don’t expect to have much success in getting people on the phone there!  Also, think I might need to approach another half dozen learned societies from my list just to round out my figures.

One thought on “Are we there yet? Looking back during phase II field work

Leave a Reply

