Code 358

It’s been another couple of weeks, and frankly I’ve spent most of the time engaged in creating, consolidating and refining my qualitative concept coding framework for my field work data.  From those of you who know what it’s like, you’ll understand why I’m starting to see patterns forming in everyday life.  Woke up in the middle of the night yesterday having suddenly analysed the plot of You, Me and the Apocalypse and worked out the ending*.  Just about avoided waking the Wife up to tell her my revelations!

Hopefully next week once I’ve finished this process, and writing my concept code book, I’ll be able to start running through my final test coding phases, make the final modifications and then break out NVivo all over again.  Just about at the point where my yearly licence runs out and I’ll need to pop to campus to get the new software key!  Gah.

Employment

Had a very useful conversation with my new line manager (at least for the first 6 months) mid-week, and it looks like all being well I’ll be starting off in the new role at the beginning of November.  That is of course assuming HR can get their respective ducks in a row by then, and I’ve never known HR to roll at any realistic speed, so I’m currently taking that all with a pinch of salt.  Not had written contracts through yet either, which means I don’t really want to start talking too much about what I’m doing publicly until I’ve signed on the dotted line!  Suffice to say I’m really actually very excited about starting in the job, and I think there’s a great deal to do in/with it!  So roll on November.

Meanwhile, finally heard back from the last of the other 4 jobs I’d applied for around the same time as this one.  Not too bad all in all, a 40% application:interview ratio.  A little surprised one of them (a media librarian post) I didn’t ever get an interview for, as I was a damned good match and wrote a storming application.  Ah well, guess it wasn’t to be…and anyway, I’d already accepted this (exciting) job!

Meetings

Met with my supervisor last week to discuss a joint conference paper proposal for next year.  Really animated (and long) meeting where we discussed my research findings to date, looked a bit into the analysis and dealt with some of my concerns over word limits.  I think I’m going to have to do some pruning as I’m close to the university’s limits, but I’ve yet to really establish how absolute they are.  Graduate Office tells me one thing, supervisor another.  So for now, I’ll keep on writing, but it does look like I get to chop one of my proposed chapters – just wouldn’t fit!

Also looks like I’m going to have too many results for the thesis (!), so potentially already thinking how/where to publish these in the new year.  Once the thesis is closer to its final shape of course.

Interviews

Oh yes, I also carried out one bonus research interview – one of my actors who I thought had dropped out of contact, got back in touch.  And a very useful set of insights it was too, glad I went ahead with it.  But that’s it, final line really drawn under it all.  Short of someone from my UK government approaches reappearing, I can’t foresee doing any more.  Kinda going to miss this element of talking to people, finding out what they’re doing…but then it looks like that’s going to be part of the new job.  So one door closes…

And that’s it…other than dealing with an unreliable tradesman in between all this, and a still fairly sickly Mrs Llama.  And now…back to the coding framework.

*In case I’m very wrong (we’re only on ep4 of 10), and to avoid spoiling it for anyone else…I’m keeping quiet on this!

Leave a Reply

