It Was The Blurst of Times

And here we are once more at the two week catch up – and what an eventful couple of weeks it’s been.

Mercian Collaboration

Sorta-Kinda My Office (for now)
Sorta-Kinda My Office (for now)

Started my p/t job this week with the Mercian Libraries Collaboration.  I was excited before I started…which was unusual for a new job, normally I’m quite nervous and full of apprehension the first day, but I was just champing at the bit to get stuck into this one.  Lovely first day, meeting with various people at Leicester who I used to work with (and most of whom didn’t realise it’d been 3.25 years since they’d seen me).  Lots of very familiar faces, and a handful of new ones.  Felt very welcomed, and that’s not even going to be my office home for the long term*.  Lots to get into, read about and bring myself up to date on, and even have the use of the Project Room as my office – well, when no one else’s booked it!  But I rather like the nomadic existence, which is just as well as a lot of this job is going to be about being on the road certainly for the early days.  Now I just need to find out where my tech and work mobile are coming from and I’ll be totally good to go.  All in all, a very positive commencement – I almost regret I’ve only the 1 working day a week to give to this!

Now if I can just stop myself saying Meridian or Mercenary when people ask me whom I’m working for, I’ll be happy.  Mrs Llama just keeps shouting “MERCIAN!” at me, as though she’s just escaped off the set of The Last Kingdom.

Campus

Went into campus at the crack of dawn one morning, to pick up the new software key for Nvivo.  During the 30 minutes I was on site I met an academic friend, printed off dozens of pages and admired the new central building (The Pavillion).  Not bad.  And then was home before 9am!

Coding

The big job of the past couple of weeks has been finishing off the second of the two coding frameworks I’ve been building.  So the code books are all written, and the definitions are all in place.  Now in the process of creating then in NVivo (and reteaching myself NVivo as I’ve forgotten bits of it).  Which means next week – all is go for the full coding phase!!!  Much excitement and celebration at this point.

Linked.In

Linked.In Skills
Linked.In Skills

Following a discussion on FriendFace and Chitter this week about where Linked.In harvests the rather random suggested contact names from (seems it’s largely from the app which sneakily scans your GMail unless you remember to block it), went on to explore the wonders of endorsements.  Which thanks to a number of chums means I now have some VERY interesting skills on my profile.  There’s a lot of interesting debate too around the dissonance between what your connections perceive as your skill base vs what you know are your actual skills.  I’ve done some rearrangement on my skills, to try and highlight a bit more the things I’m rather better at professionally…still not 100% sure what the Hades the skill Library is anyway!

Mrs Llama tells me she likes to randomly endorse people for skills in the hope they might return the favour, so I’ve been doing that as well.  Feels rather akin to FriendFace’s poking of old mind you me.  Anyway, feel free to endorse me for something…or should I say something that’s not Activated Sludge (you know who you are!).

Miscellany

Other odds and sods

  • Filled in an AHRC survey about changes to PhD funding.  Delighted to see they want to move to a 4 year standard…wish they’d done that with me.
  • Tried filling in another survey about gaming/gambling research from some local scholars.  Gave up on about question 746.  Not the best example of questionnaire design I’ve come across, and a strong argument for using a different methodology IMHO.
  • Been following the argument over Elsevier and the journal Lingua with some interest this week.  Storm in a tea cup or the pebbles before the avalanche?
  • Project Pizza took a dramatic step forward

*Probably, still up for discussion – but that’s all part of the fun of this job 🙂

Leave a Reply

